Mathematics Department

Courses Offered

Algebra I
Advanced Algebra I
Freshman Algebra II
Honors Algebra II
Algebra II
Algebra II with Trigonometry
Geometry
Honors Geometry
Geometry with Deductive Reasoning
Functions, Statistics and Trigonometry
Pre-calculus with Trigonometry and Statistics
Honors Trigonometry and Pre-calculus
Calculus
AP Calculus AB
AP Calculus BC
AP Statistics

Department Philosophy & Goals

The philosophy of the Mathematics Department is an echo of the school’s philosophy to educate the whole person and develop the qualities of the DSHA Graduate. Our primary purpose is to educate young women in mathematics and to challenge them to do the best they can, according to their abilities. Critical thinking and communication of mathematical ideas are emphasized. The goals of the Mathematics Department are to develop and refine a student’s ability for problem solving and to equip each student with sufficient mathematical skills so that she has the freedom to pursue the college curriculum and/or career of her choice. Concepts of mathematics are related to real world situations and careers at every opportunity. The department strives to provide an atmosphere where students learn to enjoy and appreciate mathematics, and develop confidence in their mathematical skills. The use of technology is integrated throughout coursework.

Faculty

Mrs. Dawn Gardner, Department Chair 
BS in mathematics education, Winona State University
Teaching at DSHA since 1997
GardnerD@dsha.k12.wi.us

Mrs. Emily Brown           
BA in Math Education, Michigan Technological University
MS in Curriculum and Instruction, National Louis University
Teaching at DSHA since 2015
BrownE@dsha.k12.wi.us

Mrs. Connie Farrow
BS in industrial engineering, Purdue University
MS in production systems, Marquette University
Teaching Certification, Cardinal Stritch University
Teaching at DSHA since 2013
FarrowC@dsha.k12.wi.us

Ms. Rissie Lundberg, DSHA ’93
BA in math education, Brigham Young University
Teaching at DSHA since 2007
LundbergC@dsha.k12.wi.us

Mrs. Deb Mueller
BA in education, University of Akron
MA in education, University of Louisville
Teaching at DSHA since 1994
MuellerD@dsha.k12.wi.us

Ms. Libby Wissing, DSHA '10
BA in mathematics secondary education, St. Norbert College
Teaching at DSHA since 2014
WissingL@dsha.k12.wi.us

Mrs. Diane Wycklendt
BSE in business education and mathematics education 7-12, UW-Whitewater
MST in teaching, UW-Whitewater
Teaching at DSHA from 1994-1998 and 2003-present
WycklendtD@dsha.k12.wi.us

© Divine Savior Holy Angels High School

4257 North 100th Street · Milwaukee, WI 53222
(414) 462-3742 
Sponsored by the Sisters of the Divine Savior