Communications/English Department

Courses Offered

College Prep English I, II
Contemporary Literature
Digital Publishing in the 21st Century
The Female Identity in Literature
British Writers
Shakespeare
The Writing Course
The Self In Literature
Topics in Literature
World Literature
Great Books
AP English: Literature and Composition
Communications and Speech
Playwriting I

Department Philosophy & Goals

The English Department is committed to preparing students for the reading, writing and speaking tasks they will face in college and beyond. Our program is primarily focused on fostering a student’s analytical reading and writing skills, as we believe it is these skills which best serve a student in future academic coursework and a multitude of professional endeavors.

All department members believe in providing a friendly, warm classroom environment where students feel respected and valued. We believe such an environment—when coupled with meaningful instruction and a commitment to academic excellence—provides a student with the means to discover, hone and manifest her critical thinking and writing skills.

 

Faculty

Mr. Andy Berens
BA in English and history, UW-Madison
MA in Education, Concordia University of Wisconsin
Teaching at DSHA since 2016
BerensA@dsha.k12.wi.us

Ms. Ami Bonk, DSHA '88
BA in political science, English, Xavier University
Certificate in secondary education, UW-Milwaukee
Teaching at DSHA since 1999
BonkA@dsha.k12.wi.us

Mr. Tim Grandy
BS in English education, UW-Milwaukee
MA in English, Marquette University
Teaching at DSHA since 1980
GrandyT@dsha.k12.wi.us

Mr. Adam Ithier
BA in English, secondary education, Marquette University
MA in educational leadership, Marian University
Teaching at DSHA since 2014
IthierA@dsha.k12.wi.us

Mrs. Laura Kahle, DSHA '02
BA in writing - intensive English, Marquette University
MA in secondary education, Providence College
Teaching at DSHA since 2012
KahleL@dsha.k12.wi.us

Mr. Andrew Lelinski
BA in English and Secondary Education, Marquette University
MA in English, Marquette University
Teaching at DSHA since 2016
LelinskiA@dsha.k12.wi.us

Mr. Quinten Loucks, Instructional Technology Coordinator
BS in secondary education, UW-Platteville
Master’s of education in instructional technology, Cardinal Stritch University
Teaching at DSHA since 2007
LoucksQ@dsha.k12.wi.us

Dr. Heather Moran-Mansfield, Academic Dean
BS in biology, Briar Cliff University
Master’s in English, University of Missouri-Kansas City
PhD in English, Marquette University
At DSHA since 2004
MansfieldH@dsha.k12.wi.us

Mr. Terrence McGinn
BA in English and journalism, UW-Milwaukee
Master’s degree in progress, UW-Milwaukee
Teaching at DSHA since 1978
McGinnT@dsha.k12.wi.us

Dr. Melissa Shew
BA in English literature, philosophy, political science,
     Miami University of Ohio
MA in philosophy, University of Oregon
PhD in philosophy, University of Oregon
Teaching at DSHA since 2012
ShewM@dsha.k12.wi.us

© Divine Savior Holy Angels High School

4257 North 100th Street · Milwaukee, WI 53222
(414) 462-3742 
Sponsored by the Sisters of the Divine Savior